West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021 Live Updates: Narendra Modi – Dilip Ghosh (BJP), Mamata Banerjee (AITC), CPI, INC, GJM: Result date, majority seats, exit poll results, counting time and many more

BJP expresses confidence about victory in West Bengal polls

West Bengal Assembly Election 2021 Live News Updates: Firecrackers were set off outside Mahajati Sadan in central Kolkata on Thursday morning, which were initially alleged to be crude bombs, an EC official said. BJP candidate from Jorasanko, Meena Devi Purohit, had earlier alleged that a bomb was hurled at her vehicle

General election to the Legislative Assembly of West Bengal for 292 constituencies of the 294 constituencies in West Bengal were held between 27 March to 29 April 2021 in 8 phases. Voting for 2 remaining constituencies was delayed and are scheduled to be held on 16 May 2021.

Voting for the eighth and final phase of the ongoing West Bengal assembly elections concluded on Thursday. Votes were cast at polling stations across the last 35 assembly constituencies going to the polls in this phase. Later in the day, after 7:30pm, news channels and poll agencies came out with their exit polls for the five assembly elections held recently, including the one in Bengal. The first round of the polling took place on March 27, followed by the subsequent phases on April 1, 6, 10, 17, 22 and 26 respectively. Counting of votes and declaration of results for all 294 constituencies in the eastern state, as well as the four other assembly elections, will take place on May 2.

West Bengal Election 2021 Schedule: 
Election schedule were announced on 26 February 2021 and the election was held in 8 phases from 27 March 2021 to 29 April 2021 and votes will be counted on 2 May 2021. Due to polling abnormalities, re-polling for the booth number 88 of Jangipara was held in the fourth phase.[38] The elections in Jangipur and Samserganj were adjourned due to the death of the Congress candidate in Samserganj and RSP candidate in Jangipur. A new schedule for the election in these two seats were announced and the polling will be held on 13 May 2021. However due to the day being Eid, the voting day was again rescheduled for 16 May.

In the previous elections in 2016, the All India Trinamool Congress (AITC or TMC) retained its majority in the Legislative Assembly with 211 seats. The Indian National Congress won 44 seats and the Left Front won 33 seats fighting within an alliance. While the Bharatiya Janata Party and the Gorkha Janmukti Morcha managed to win only 3 seats each of the total 294 seats.

West Bengal Election 2021 Results timings  
The date of counting votes of the West Bengal legislative election is May 2. The counting of votes will begin in the early morning around 8 am and the final results will be declared by evening, on the same day.

West Bengal Election Results 2021 Key Candidates 

  • Mamata Banerjee
  • Suvendu Adhikari
  • Agnimitra Paul
  • Sayoni Ghosh
  • Srabanti Chatterjee
  • Partha Chatterjee
  • Payel Sarkar
  • Ratna Chatterjee
  • Rudranil Ghosh
  • Sovandeb Chattopadhyay
  • Locket Chatterjee
  • Mukul Roy
  • Kaushani Mukherjee
  • Babul Supriyo
  • Aroop Biswas
  • Swapan Dasgupta

West Bengal Election Results 2021: Exit Polls 
Exit poll results for West Bengal state elections projected a cliffhanger in West Bengal. Most exit polls predicts that Mamata Banerjee may make it past the majority mark with 152 seats. The polls hints that the Trinamool's tally will drop sharply with the making huge gains. Meanwhile, India News-Jan Ki Baat predicts a win for the BJP while the Republic TV-CNX predicts a hung assembly

West Bengal Assembly Elections 2021 Live Updates: Narendra Modi – Dilip Ghosh (BJP), Mamata Banerjee (AITC), CPI, INC, GJM: Result date, majority seats, exit poll results, counting time and many more, published by - The Beyond News (Politics)